Hi, my name is Johnny Battaglio. I started volunteering at Chilliwack Hospice Society in 2010, along with my wife Renee who was on the Relaxation team. We also volunteered together at the Cascade Hospice. When Renee was diagnosed with cancer in 2018, I became her main caregiver; I learned how to administer all her medication and provided her with loving care in our home. I will always remember the day close to the time of Renee’s passing, when a large group of friends from Chilliwack Hospice Society came to our home to provide Renee with loving support. It was such a special time and so appreciated. Renee passed away at home on Sep 11, 2019. This was right at the beginning of COVID-19, so a lot of the in-person supports at Chilliwack Hospice Society weren’t happening at that time. However, I was able to join the Supportive Walking Group, which was a big help to me during this very difficult time.

In 2022, I decided to take the Basic Hospice Training course once again as a refresher. I am now happy to be volunteering back at the Cascade Hospice Residence, and I also volunteer for the Supportive Walking Group. I really enjoy being at the Hospice supporting those who are at the end of life, and their families. This gives my life purpose, and it is very meaningful for me to be able to use the experience that I gained through my own personal journey. I feel that I now have a much greater understanding of grief and loss, and I love to be able to use this experience to help others. I’ve learned a lot about communication through my past working years in Business Management and a volunteer position with the Crisis Line, one of the most important things I‘ve learned is to just be there to listen.

I’ve been fortunate in my life to travel the world extensively, enjoying many places such as Britain, Europe, Africa, Mexico, and traveling throughout most of the USA on my motorcycle. There are many things in life that I enjoy such as friends, family, walking, hiking, biking, Tai chi, yoga, meditating, art, playing the flute, taking care of my fish and plants, kayaking, sailing, motorcycling and horses. I am originally from Toronto, Ontario and moved to BC.  I am fortunate to have two sons and two daughters, and seven grandchildren.